Project Description

“Salli” – more than music.

INTERVIEW

How did you get the idea to start your own business?
I trained as a heating engineer/gas and water fitter at TGA straight after leaving school in 1991. That went on for 3 ½ years. After that I worked at the TGA for a while and then did alternative civilian service. I founded my business on the 1st October 2004.Prior to that, I completed a nine-month training course for future self-employment. I was out of work for a year and I said, “I want to do something on my own.”
The starting point, however, was that I won a special prize as the best guitarist in the state of Brandenburg at the state youth rock competition in 2000. So I figured something had to be done with that. I just wanted to stay in Forst and not go somewhere else to find work.
I wanted to earn my living with music most of all and originally wanted to start a music business. But I was advised not to do that. I then founded a “Ich AG”. That was optimal for me. In the course of the time I could earn my money with it, so the biggest part always with the guitar lessons and a part to it always with making music. Now my wish would be that maybe next year I would give up the Wednesday classes in Cottbus and really only be in Forst.

What do you like about your work and what was the biggest challenge?
I certainly had to learn a lot. I was able to play guitar, but now I had to learn a lot of know-how. Together with the students, I was able to learn a lot over the years. At the music school I learned classical guitar and later taught myself electric guitar as an autodidact. I think the biggest challenge when you’re self-employed is to stay on top of it all the time and to motivate yourself to keep going.
Well, the beauty of being self-employed is that you’re responsible for yourself. Of course, it’s nice to teach someone something. But most of all, I’m totally happy about being responsible for myself and being able to do what I love and passionately do, playing music, playing guitar. Music is a very important thing for me. I think I deal with music completely differently than most people, because I’m looking for something completely different. When I listen to music, it’s about feeling something. I don’t judge someone by how well they do something, but whether they make me feel something. So many people have it who don’t even know it, but many don’t either…

What are the typical students who come to you, is there a certain age group?
There are primarily children from the 1st until 12th/13th class. The new ones coming in are very young right now, 6 to 7 years old. When I started there were more teenagers around 13/14/15 years old who really wanted to start a band and did, especially with electric guitars. I also have adults who just want to learn this for themselves. There have been some who have been my students 12 years out of the 15 years since I have been teaching.
„Regular customers,” yes, I really do have them.

What does Forst mean to you?
There’s a reason why we stayed here. We are attached to our homeland. I never really wanted to leave and I was glad we always had our living here. I like Forst and I love living here.

Share this post with friends.

Address
Frankfurter Straße 17
03149 Forst (Lausitz)
Contact
+49 (0) 3562 668887, +49 (0) 173 890 31 63
Opening hours
lessons on appointment
Branch
Musician
Guitar lessons
Sound technique

How can we help you?

Do you have questions about our protagonists and their business? We’ll be happy to take the time to answer them.

Contact us!

Laden...
SVEN SONSALLA2020-04-23T19:04:52+02:00

Projekt Beschreibung

“Salli” – more than music.

INTERVIEW

Wie bis Du auf die Idee gekommen Dich selbständig zu machen?

Ich habe gleich nach der Schule 1991 Heizungsmonteur/Gas-, Wasserinstallateur bei der TGA gelernt. Das ging dann 3 ½ Jahre. Danach habe ich noch eine Weile bei der TGA gearbeitet und anschließend Zivildienst geleistet. Gegründet habe ich am 1. Oktober 2004. Davor absolvierte ich eine neunmonatige Weiterbildung für die zukünftige Selbständigkeit. Ich war ein Jahr ohne Arbeit und hab dann gesagt: „Ich will etwas alleine machen.“ Ausgangspunkt war allerdings, dass ich als bester Gitarrist des Landes Brandenburg 2000 beim Landesjugendrockwettbewerb einen Sonderpreis gewann. Da dachte ich mir, damit müsste man etwas anfangen. Ich wollte halt auch in Forst bleiben und nicht irgendwo anders hin gehen, um Arbeit zu finden.

Ich wollte vor allem mit Musik am allerliebsten meinen Lebensunterhalt verdienen und ursprünglich ein Musikgeschäft aufmachen. Davon wurde mir aber abgeraten. Ich gründete dann eine Ich-AG. Das war optimal für mich. Im Laufe der Zeit konnte ich mein Geld damit verdienen, also den größten Teil immer mit dem Gitarrenunterricht und ein Teil dazu immer mit Musik machen.

Was gefällt Dir an Deiner Arbeit und was war so die größte Herausforderung?

Ich musste ja auf jeden Fall viel dazu lernen. Ich konnte zwar Gitarre spielen, aber jetzt musste ich mir viel know how aneignen. Mit den Schülern zusammen konnte ich selbst in den ganzen Jahren sehr viel dazu lernen. An der Musikschule erlernte ich klassische Gitarre und habe mir E-Gitarre später als Autodidakt beigebracht. Ich glaube, die größte Herausforderung, wenn man selbständig ist, ist, ständig dran zu bleiben und sich zu motivieren, es weiter durchzuziehen.

Naja, das Schöne am selbständig sein ist vor allem, dass du für dich selber verantwortlich bist. Natürlich ist es schön, jemandem etwas beizubringen. Vor allem aber bin ich total glücklich darüber, dass ich für mich selbst verantwortlich bin und natürlich darüber, dass ich das machen kann, was ich am liebsten und mit Leidenschaft mache, Musik, Gitarre spielen. Musik ist für mich eine ganz wichtige Sache. Ich glaube, dass ich völlig anders mit Musik umgehe, als der größte Teil der Leute, weil ich nach etwas ganz anderem suche. Wenn ich Musik höre, geht´s bei mir darum, etwas zu spüren. Ich beurteile nicht jemand danach, wie gut er etwas beherrscht, sondern ob der bei mir ein Gefühl auslöst. Das haben viele, die es gar nicht wissen, aber viele auch nicht…

Was sind die typischen Schüler, die zu Dir kommen, gibt es eine bestimmte Altersgruppe?

Es sind schon in erster Linie Kinder von der 1. bis zur 12./13. Klasse. Sie sind sehr jung im Moment, die neu dazu kommen, 6 bis 7 Jahre alt. Als ich anfing, waren es mehr Jugendliche so 13/14/15 Jahre alt, die wirklich noch eine Band gründen wollten und gegründet haben, vor allem mit E-Gitarren. Ich habe auch Erwachsene, die wollen das nur für sich lernen. Es gab einige, die waren 12 Jahre von den 15 Jahren seitdem ich unterrichte, meine Schüler. „Stammkunden“, ja, die habe ich wirklich.

Was bedeutet Dir Forst?

Das hat schon seinen Grund, warum wir hier geblieben sind. Wir hängen an unserer Heimat. Ich wollte wirklich nie richtig weg und ich war froh, dass wir immer unser Auskommen hier hatten. Ich mag Forst und lebe unheimlich gern hier.

Adresse
Frankfurter Straße 17
03149 Forst (Lausitz)
Kontakt
03562 668887, 0173 890 31 63
Öffnungs­zeiten
Unterricht nach Vereinbarung
Branche
Musiker
Gitarrenunterricht
Tontechnik

Wie können wir Ihnen helfen?

Sie haben Fragen zu unseren Akteuren und deren Geschäften? Wir nehmen uns gern Zeit, um sie zu beantworten.

Kontakt aufnehmen